Executive Committee

The Governance of SHCS

Our Executive Committee

The governance of the Sanatan Hindu Cultural Society is entrusted to an Executive Committee appointed at the annual general body meeting every year. The members of the Executive Committee are the President, Vice President, Treasurer and Secretary. The executive committee also nominates a member to the executive committee to oversee and coordinate the events and activities for the year.

The responsibilities of the Executive Committee includes general governance and administration, formulation and execution of short-term and long-term plans and responsibility for facility maintenance, financial control and event execution.

The executive committee members for the year 2021 are :

Arcot Devender


Devender is the society’s President/Chief Executive Officer for the year 2020.He is responsible for the general and active management of the affairs of the society, presiding over all the meetings, liaisons with the governing and regulatory authorities, and ensuring that all orders and resolutions of the Board of Directors are executed.

Now retired from a successful career as SME in Suncor Energy, he devotes his energies and vast management experience to directing the efforts of the committee towards accomplishment of the society’s mission, in his third tenure as president.


Vice President



Shoba performs the role of Vice President for the current year 2021-2022. As a Vice-president, Shoba assists the President in the discharge of his duties and takes over his responsibilities in his absence. She also handles other critical responsibilities such as religious events planning and execution, management of day-to-day operations, and coordination of monthly religious events and activities and major events for the year with the religious team. She also liaises with the devotes who wish to perform religious services.

As a Program Coordinator working in a Charitable Association, Shoba brings her passion for social services and her expertise in management to her role in the Executive Committee.

Suhasini Akilla




Suhasini, in her role as treasurer, manages the financial affairs including maintenance of all books of accounts of the society in compliance with federal and provincial regulations, management of grants and funds applications, disbursement of the society funds and custody of the society’s assets and securities.

Pushkala Subramani




Pushkala is the executive secretary and is entrusted with the administration of the society’s affairs, scheduling meetings and recording the minutes, maintaining and recording all internal and external communications and handle the general administrative duties.

An early childhood educator and English instructor, her passion for community service and experience in organizing community and charitable events lends itself to the efficient and enthusiastic discharge of her responsibilities. Her skills honed by her active involvement in ‘Toastmasters’ are ideally suited to her communications role.

SHCS Core and Extended Committee

SHCS Core and Extended Committee (From Left to Right):

1. Deepa Jayasimhan
2. Jyothi Guntur
3. Pushkala Subramani
4. Ranjini Devender
5. Shoba.S.Rao
6. Veena Murthy
7. Suhasini Akilla
8. Arcot Devender
9. Avinash Iyer
10. Krishnan Venkat
11. Srinivasan Rao
12. Ramaiah Divi
13. Jayasimhan Anantharangachar